MGMA Special Alert

Oct. 6, 2015 - Special Alert

CMS releases final meaningful use Stage 2 modifications and Stage 3 rules

Today, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released a long-awaited final regulation that includes modifications to Stage 2 of the EHR Incentive (meaningful use) Program and outlines the requirements for Stage 3 of the program. The rule also specifies EHR certification standards and finalizes the government's "interoperability roadmap." For meaningful use in 2015 through 2017, major provisions include:

  • Shortened 2015 reporting period (from all year to any 90 consecutive days in 2015);
  • Ten objectives for eligible professionals including one public health reporting objective, down from 18 total objectives;
  • Reduced number of measures that are required to be reported;
  • Reduced measure threshold for View, Download or Transmit (from 5% to just one patient in 2015); and
  • Reduced measure threshold for Secure Messaging (from 5% to simply having the capability in 2015).

MGMA will develop a member benefit overview of the regulation.
Read the CMS fact sheet.

Anonymous (not verified)
Share this post: